Site Map

Neighborhood Champion Award Ceremony Held in Wick Park

Tuesday, August 29, 2017

On Tuesday, August 29, twenty-nine Neighborhood Champion Award nominees were recognized in a ceremony held at the Wick Park Pavilion on the city’s North Side. The nominees were as follows:

Mohammed Azam

Peggy Bosela

Mason Carratt

Mary Danus

Joyce Davidson

Marguerite Douglas

Tom Forestal

Rick Giles

Peggy Griffith

Kyle Johnson

Eric Jones

Gary Koerth

Keland Logan

Nancy and Russell Martin

Rita McKinley

Shalene McRae

Gennarro Mitchell

Jerry O'Hara

Father Kevin Peters

Tom Pipoly

Maggie Pentz

Thomas and Elnora Sipp

John B. Slanina

Dorothy Smith

Southside Recycling

St. Patrick’s Church

Claudia Sturtz

John Swierz

Raul & Victoria Valentine

From the 29 nominees, five winners were chosen and awarded with $1,000 for a neighborhood improvement project of their choice. Winners chosen by the selection committee were Peggy Bosela, Joyce Davidson, Marguerite Douglas, Keland Logan, and Thomas and Elnora Sipp. All the nominees and their projects will be highlighted on YNDC social media in the coming weeks. We would like to thank all the nominees for their dedication to improving Youngstown’s neighborhoods!